Summer Reading List 2011

The best part about the summer for me is the opportunity to catch up on all the books I missed reading during the academic year. And this summer, which begins, officially, on June 10th, is no exception.

Thinking about all the books I want to read, I admit, is making me drool a bit because there are, literally, tons of books I want to read this summer.

So, here is a list of what I want to read this summer, in no particular order or preference:

1. Room by Emma Donoghue

2. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (re-read)

3. Moon Over Soho by Ben Aaronovitch

4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (re-read)

5. Goodbye Columbus by Philip Roth (re-read)

6. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (re-read)

7. The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

8. Thirteen by Richard K. Morgan

9. Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino

10. Embassytown by China Mieville

11. The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

12. One of Our Thursdays is Missing by Jasper Fforde

13. A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf

14. Persuasion by Jane Austen (re-read for the millionth time!)

15. The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott by Kelly O’Connor McNees

16. Enough About Love by Herve Le Tellier

17. Grotesque by Natsuo Kirino

18. The Help by Kathryn Stockett (finish)

19. Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua

20. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

21. On the Road by Jack Kerovac

22. The Good Fairies of New York by Marin Millar

23. Dona Nicanora’s Hat Shop by Kristan Hawkins

24. The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson (finish)

25. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (re-read in preparation for film)

26. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (re-read for the million and oneth time!)

27. The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison

28. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy (re-read)

29. Red Oleanders by Rabinranath Tagore

30. 1984 by George Orwell (re-read) (And now there are 30! I knew I’d add another book to the list!)

31. The Salary Man’s Wife by Sujata Massey

32. Gentlemen and Players by Joanne Harris

33. Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

34. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz (in preparation for the Ubud Writer’s Festival 2011)

As it is, this is quite an ambitious list, but I have a nagging feeling that between now and June 10th, this list will grow even further! I will attempt to read as many on the list as I can, and to keep me honest, I will write, at least, short reviews of the books that I do complete.

So, now that you know what I’ll be reading this summer … What about you? What will you be reading this summer?

Comment

