Review: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Summary (from Goodreads):

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a young foster girl living outside of Munich in Nazi Germany. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she discovers something she can’t resist – books. Soon she is stealing books from Nazi book-burnings, the mayor’s wife’s library, wherever they are to be found.

With the help of her accordion-playing foster-father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids, as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Review:

Okay, this is my second review about a book that deals with WWII. One might say I have a ‘thing’ about WWII, but that’s not quite the case. While I have read a fair amount about this topic, this novel is the most original one that I have read, and read, and read, and read!

The story is of Liesel Meminger, who we meet at a difficult moment in her life, where we see her surreptitiously steal a book. From this point onwards we are shown glimpses of her life by a quite unexpected narrator, which is the main reason I fell in love with this book – there aren’t enough words to express how much I love the narrator! Oh, and it deals with Liesel’s love for books, so much so that she steals them, even from the most dangerous of people.

Before I get carried away with saying how much I adore this book, I will end with this: Read this book if you like adventure. Read this book if you like something unique and unexpected. Read this book if you love books. And, read this book if you want a really, really good read.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

  1. loved it so much!! what a great book this was. My favorite part was the narrator too, I never thought I would like a book where a narrator was how do – I put it…..so unwelcome. But it is such an interesting concept.

Comment

