Review: So.B.It by Sarah Weeks (YA)

Summary (from Goodreads):

Heidi knows that she’s approximately 12 years old, but she doesn’t know her last name, her birthday, or, for that matter, the identity of her father. With a vocabulary of only two dozen words, her mentally disabled mother can’t help Heidi fill the gaps in her history, but simple despair will not stop this little trooper. When she finds a camera full of old photographs, she begins a quest that will take her into the past and new beginnings. A mature, gripping story.

 

Review:

I read this novel ages ago and haven’t been able to get it out of my head since then. It’s a heartbreaking, bitter-sweet story of a young girl in search of her identity, and what she finds is not quite she or I expected.

It’s needless to say that I cried through most of the novel, but am so happy that I read it … the roller-coaster of emotions helped me to experience a life that was very different to my own, and see the world through the eyes of someone so unlike me.

This is absolutely worth reading because you are not quite the same after it.

2 thoughts on “Review: So.B.It by Sarah Weeks (YA)

Comment

