Review: The Library of Shadows by Mikkel Birkegaard

From Danish author Mikkel Birkegaard comes a novel about a secret society of ‘readers’ who have special powers to effect listeners and influence how they feel and change their opinions of a text. However, there’s a shadow group that’s using these powers to gain control and use it for ‘unethical’ outcomes. The story starts with the murder of one of the society members. It’s a translation from Danish, so the vividness of the language isn’t there, but the plot is absorbing. Very much worth a read.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Library of Shadows by Mikkel Birkegaard

  1. Oh my gosh, I loved this book! I could read it again and again – you know it right? thank you once again for recommending it 🙂
    I have one for you – The Twelfth Enchantment… have u read?

  2. It’s been a while since I read this, but can’t get it out of my head! Like you, I could read it again, and again! I think a second or a third reading is necessary because it’s easy to miss some of the plot in the first reading. Ooh! Thank you for the recommendation – will add it to my list 🙂 I haven’t read it, but why does the title sound so familiar?

Comment

