Ubud Writer’s and Reader’s Festival 2011 – Bali, Indonesia

Next week, I am off to my favorite place!! No, not a book shop! Something even better … A BOOK FESTIVAL! Yes, I’ll be attending this year’s Ubud Reader’s and Writer’s Festival for the second year running, and I am just giddy thinking that this time next week, I’ll be in Bali sitting in workshops and author talks and meeting people who live and breathe books!!

So, who am I most looking forward to this year? While this year’s festival boasts an enviable list of authors from all over the world, the two writers I am most looking forward to seeing are: Alexander McCall Smith of the The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, and Junot Diaz, the author of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.

The first I am keen to meet because of the down-to-earth, practical, determined, stubborn, caring, sensitive, and no-nonsense Mma Precious Ramotswe. I have spent countless hours with Mma Ramotswe as she began her own business, made friends (and enemies), fell in love, had her heart-broken, and solved mystery after mystery – both the very complex and the less so. And because it has been such a joy spending time in the laid back and “real” world of Gabarone, Botswana, I have to meet the man who brought Precious Ramotswe to my life in such colorful detail.

The latter I am keen to meet because, while I haven’t read his book (I am starting it now), I have heard such wonderful comments about his work, and read incredible reviews, that not meeting him would feel like sacrilege.

The other aspect of the festival I am salivating about is the books! Just the thought of being around all those books and discovering new writers and stories, is making me just giddy with anticipation!

So … (deep calming breath) here is the link to the official festival page for more information: www.ubudwritersfestival.com

Anyone that loves books, must attend a book festival, at least once, because the experience is priceless.

So (I use that transition a lot!), my friends, I am off! I will give a full debrief when I return!

Until then, Happy Reading! 🙂

Comment

