Review: At Bertram’s Hotel by Agatha Christie

Summary (from Goodreads):

An old-fashioned London Hotel is not quite as reputable as it makes out! When Miss Marple comes up from the country for a holiday in London, she finds what she’s looking for at Bertram’s Hotel: traditional decor, impeccable service and an unmistakable atmosphere of danger behind the highly polished veneer. Yet, not even Miss Marple can foresee the violent chain of events set in motion when an eccentric guest makes his way to the airport on the wrong day!

Review:

I haven’t read a Miss Marple mystery in ages because I prefer the Hercule Poirot mysteries – I find them more interesting. Anyway, I picked up this book hoping to change my mind about Miss Marple as a detective – it did not. The story is quiet complex with a cast of quirky characters – from the absent-minded Cannon Pennyfarther to the volatile Lady Sedgwick to the bovine Chief Inspector Davy (also lovingly called Father) – and a plot that, I admit, kept me guessing for a bit. However, the pace of the story was quite slow and Miss Marple had little to do in the story until the end. While I did enjoy this Agatha Christie mystery, it hasn’t changed my opinion of Miss Marple. I think I will stick to the Hercule Poirot mysteries.

2 thoughts on “Review: At Bertram’s Hotel by Agatha Christie

  1. I prefer Poirot myself, but can’t resist Miss Marple because she is so sweet. I haven’t read any MM, so will check it out. I have watched many episodes and even then I have found them slow moving. They don’t often hold my attention but I adore her. A bit strange hmmm 🙂

  2. A bit strange, but I do understand 🙂 The story itself is good … the setting of Bertram’s Hotel, the old world English charm (which was my favourite part), and the perfect tea was brilliant, but I wish there had been more of Miss Marple; the story was told by other characters than her. Maybe the next one will be better. Oooh! Is there a TV series based on Miss Marple?

Comment

