Review: Little Bee by Chris Cleave

Little Bee

Summary (from Goodreads):

Two women collide lives on a Nigeria beach. One must make a terrible choice. Two years later, they meet again and the story starts …

 

 

 

Review:

This was my first novel read from beginning to end on my e-reader (previous attempts to read electronically were disappointing – couldn’t get through more than three pages at most) – success! Thank you to my friend, Mumsibles of http://www.mumsibles.com, for the recommendation!

So, what kept me hooked was the narrative structure of the novel – the story being told by the two principal characters. The voices of the two women (love that!) are distinct and full of the emotions that bind them because of one chance meeting.

I don’t want to give too much away because it is a novel that needs to be experienced, and it certainly is that. Recommended.

3 thoughts on “Review: Little Bee by Chris Cleave

  1. Really love this review. I’ve seen the book everywhere but wasn’t attracted to it at all and now, I really want to read it.
    Omg! Love the new look. How did you do it?

    Blog friends have recommended that I start a book blog just for reviews as many seem to like what I do… What do you think? Too confusing to switch now?

    1. Thank you so much, Meditatingmummy! 🙂 The book is definitely worth the read – looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it.

      The new look is thanks to my sister. I wanted to create a logo and she did that for me. There was lots of discussion about colour and font!

      I think it’s a great idea to start a separate book blog – your reviews are so good! I don’t think it would be confusing, at all. Maybe add a page to your existing blog? Ooh! This is exciting!

  2. Love the review! It’s a fab book isn’t it? Have you read anything else from Chris Cleave? I’ve got two that I am really looking forward to reading – Gold and Incendiary.

Comment

